If you need to contact any member of the Governing Body please write to them at the school via the Clerk to Governors:

Mrs Ruth Harrison
Clerk to Governors
Lowton CofE High School
Newton Rd

01942 767040

The remit of the Governing Body is to:

  1. Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  2. Hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  3. Oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent

Governing Body Composition:

Type of GovernorNo
Foundation Liverpool3 (1 Vacancy)
Foundation Manchester4
Local Authority1
Parent1 – vacancy
Staff Governor0 – vacancy
Name of GovernorType of GovernorTerm of OfficeDate of appointmentDate of resignation (if resigned in last 12 months)Appointing Body
Mrs Rosemary Johnston (Chair)Foundation Manchester4 yrs01.01.20 Diocesan Board of Education Manchester
Mrs Pam ChapmanFoundation Manchester4 yrs30.07.18 Diocesan Board of Education Manchester
Mr K LarkinHeadteacher 1.9.20 N\A
Mr Alasdair CoatesFoundation Manchester4 yrs8.6.20 Diocesan Board of Education Manchester
Rev Alan SaundersFoundation Manchester4 yrs29.03.17 Diocesan Board of Education Manchester
Mrs Marie BlewittFoundation Liverpool4 yrs5.1.20 Diocesan Board of Education Liverpool
Rev Trevor HodsonFoundation Liverpool4 yrs06.12.18 Diocesan Board of Education Liverpool
Mr Chris YatesFoundation Liverpool4 yrs29.09.16 Diocesan Board of Education Liverpool
Mr Jonathan JacksonParent Governor4 yrs29.06.17 Elected by Parents
Ms Derri BurdonCo-opted4 yrs02.07.20 Elected by the Governing Body
Mr Rob JohnsonLA4 yrs07.12.17 Local Authority
Resignations in the last year
Mr Julian PollardHeadteacher 01.09.1431.12.19N\A

Specific Responsibilities:

Boys AchievementMrs Blewitt
Child Protection\Safeguarding Governor\SEND, CareersMrs Johnston
Christian Distinctiveness, NQTRev A Saunders, Rev T Hodson
DataMr C Yates
Middle Prior AttainersMr A Coates
Pupil Premium, High Attainers & CurriculumMs D Burdon
GDPRMr R Johnson

Subject Links:

Governor NameSubject
Mrs M BlewittLiteracy & Languages
Mrs R JohnstonMaths

Committee Structure:

Terms of Reference for all committees are available on request from school

Quality of Education:Faith, Culture and Ethos CommitteeFinance, Premises, Personnel CommitteePay Committee
Remit: To deal with all matters delegated by The Governing Body regarding educational performance and monitor the impact of teaching, and assessment. To ensure teaching and learning is effective and ensure the intent of the curriculum provided to all students is rich and variedRemit: To ensure the school effectively promotes, implements and maintains its distinct Christian ethos and values and upholds Christian principles in all its actions. To deal with all matters relating to student welfare, safeguarding, behaviour and Church SchoolRemit: To deal with all matters delegated by the Governing Body regarding finance, personnel & premisesRemit: To make decisions about performance related pay for teachers & the Headteacher
Ms D Burdon (C)Rev T Hodson (C)Mrs R Johnston (C)Mr C Yates (C)
Mrs R Johnston (VC)Rev A Saunders (VC)Mr C Yates (VC)Mr R Johnson (VC)
Mrs M BlewittMr J JacksonMrs P ChapmanMrs M Blewitt
Mr A CoatesMrs R JohnstonMr R JohnsonMrs R Johnston
Mr K LarkinMr K LarkinMr K LarkinRev A Saunders

Ad hoc Committees:

  • Staff Disciplinary
  • Student Disciplinary
  • Complaints
  • Appeals

Three Governors with no prior knowledge will be called to form the committee Register of Interests:

NameDetails of Pecuniary InterestDetails of personal interestGovernor or Trustee of any other school
Mrs R Johnston (Chair)NoneNoneNo
Mrs M Blewitt (Vice Chair)NoneNoneGovernor, Lowton West Primary School
Mrs D BurdonNoneWiggle Dance CICBlaze Arts – Chair of Trustees Interim Chair – Preston Cultural Framework Board
Mrs P ChapmanNoneNoneNo
Mr A CoatesNoneNoneBishop Frazer Trust Governor – Salford City Academy Governor – Birkenhead School Cranmer Education Trust St Chad’s Runcorn
Rev T HodsonNoneNoneNo
Mr J JacksonNoneChild in schoolNo
Mr R JohnsonNoneNoneNo
Mr K LarkinNoneNone 
Rev A SaundersVicar at Christ Church Pennington and Member of Manchester City Mission Ex-officio Governor, Christ Church C of E Primary
Mr C YatesNoneNoneChair of Governors, Lowton St Luke’s CE Primary School Working with Schools, HR Advisor

Attendance Record:

Name of GovernorDates of Full Governing Body Meetings
Mrs R Johnston (Chair)*   
Mrs M Blewitt (Vice Chair)*   
Ms D Burdon*   
Mrs P Chapman*   
Mr A Coates*   
Rev T Hodson*   
Mr J Jackson*   
Mr R Johnson*   
Mr K Larkin*   
Rev A Saunders*   
Mr C Yates*   
Name of GovernorFaith, Culture and Ethos Committee Meetings
Rev T Hodson (C)*  
Rev A Saunders*  
Mr J Jackson*  
Mrs R Johnston*  
Mr K Larkin*  
Name of GovernorDates of Finance, Premises and Personnel Committee Meetings
Mrs R Johnston (C)*   
Mr C Yates (VC)*   
Mrs P Chapman*   
Mr R Johnson*   
Mr K Larkin*   
Name of GovernorDates of Quality of Education Committee Meetings
Ms D Burdon (C)*   
Mrs M Blewitt (VC)*   
Mr A Coates*   
Mrs R Johnston*   
Mr K Larkin*
Translate »